Things Need to Change Sometimes

Do you hate change?  Does change scare you?  Not me.  Not that much.  Maybe a little.

Change is only really an issue if you’re not prepared.  Actually, after a long time of doing the same thing over and over, you crave it.  Especially when you think doing the same thing repeatedly is somehow going to bring new results.  It’s frustrating to live that way.  So my advice: stop.  Stop going in circles.  Change your direction a little.  At least that’s what I’m trying to do.

Are you asking yourself yet, “what the hell is she talking about?” Well, simply put, I’m talking about me, myself, and my little business, Live Peculiar.  Remember me mentioning that a while back?  Yeah, it’s been moving and growing so. very. slow.  You see, I’ve been doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.  So I’m gonna change direction here.

I have been trying to work and sell my silly little products for a while.  Every once in a while I get interest.  Glitter wineglasses are cute. Reverse canvases are interesting.  Decals?  Yeah I sell a few.

I know. It’s not that exciting and everyone else is doing it, too.  That’s my problem! I’m doing what everyone else is doing and selling.  So I decided to take a plunge.  I bought this adorable candle making kit.  100% all natural soy candles.  I gave it a go and I made some candles.  And do you know what happened?  I ordered more wax.  I tried different fragrances.  I fell in love.

Don’t get me wrong.  I love doing and making all of my little crafts.  And I will continue to do them and make stupid little things nobody will every really want.  It brings me joy.  I love that I can do all of these different things, but I think I may have found something that speaks to me.

I enjoy the whole candle-making process.  The rising temperature of the melting wax, the constant stirring of the fragrances as it integrates with the wax, and even the waiting for the wax to cool to the perfect pouring temperature.  My candles are not perfect in look and they might not be the coolest product you’ll see out there, but candles are fabulous, delicious-smelling products.

I enjoy making candles so much that I decided to try out a different kit from the same company in hopes I’ll fall in love with that, too: soap making.  I also found a kit from another company that specializes in bath bombs.  Are you catching on here?

Personal Care! Yes!

As a “big” woman and probably on the lower spectrum of attractiveness based on popular culture (just being honest), my self-esteem is pretty low, and self care kind of falls by the wayside.  I don’t mean I am going to or have let myself go.  I still bathe and put my makeup on every morning and I generally try to look nice day to day.  What I mean, rather, is that I don’t do extras.  I don’t fill up the bathtub for a soak.  I don’t light candles just because.  And I sure as hell never buy or use fancy smelling soaps or bath bombs.

But I want to.

I want to be fancy and I want to treat myself to these things.  I want to deserve these luxuries and maybe even find a way to love myself the way I am, no matter how long that may be.  After all, we are always changing!

I know, I know.  Get to the point, already!

I don’t know if my products will be successful, but I want to try!  I want to try change out for a while.  Maybe I can make another woman that feels a similar way to how I feel about myself, or a man, child, or whoever is in the same boat, feel they can love themselves enough to light a candle and take a bath with some lovely fragrances.

This link to follow will show you my Etsy page with what I have available right now, primarily my delicious-smelling, Eco-friendly, sustainable soy candles.  There’s other stuff, too, but I’m mostly here about the candles!

https://www.Etsy.com/shop/livepeculiar

Take care!
Cassandra

Leave a comment